Discord is a cool space for gamers and people who wish to connect to others with whom they share interests. Due to the relaxed nature of the platform, there is hardly any need to unfriend someone or block them from messaging you. However, there are occasions when you need to unfriend someone on Discord. Just like other social media platforms, Discord has provisions for this.
When you unfriend someone on Discord, you will no longer receive their messages, and you will not be able to send them messages. In addition to this, if you are both on the same server, you will not see their messages, and they will not see yours. This will prevent you from dealing with toxic people and anyone with whom you do not want to relate.
Now that you know that you can remove a friend from Discord, the next thing to know is the how. People who have been using Discord for a long time are most familiar with the platform’s features, including unfriending someone. This guide will teach you how to unfriend someone on Discord and every other thing you need to know about it for the newbies.
How to Remove a Friend From Discord?
To unfriend someone on Discord, click on the “Friends” menu on the sidebar. Go to the “All” tab to view all your friends, then click on the three-dots icon next to the friend that you want to remove. Select “Remove friend” to delete them from your Discord friends list.
There are other ways to restrict someone’s access to you on Discord, including muting or blocking such a person. However, this guide will focus on removing friends from Discord. The steps are straightforward, but there may be minor differences when using a phone compared to a computer.
With all that said, here a step-by-step guide to remove a friend from Discoord:
1. Open Discord
To remove Discord friend, open the app or log into your account via any browser of your choice. The process is similar despite the differences in the web and app versions of Discord.
2. Go to Friends
Once you are on your Discord homepage, click the Friends menu on the sidebar. On mobile, tap the Friends icon at the bottom menu, which is the second icon from the left.
3. Find the friend and click the three-dots icon next to their name
A list of all your friends will now appear. Switch to the All tab at the top to view all your friends.
Now find the friend that you want to remove from Discord and click the three-dots icon next to their name.
4. Select ‘Remove Friend’
From the menu that appears, click on the Remove Friend option. A popup will appear to confirm the action. Once again, click the Remove Friend button.
The person will no longer be your friend on Discord and will be removed from your Friends list.
What Happens When You Unfriend Someone on Discord?
When you unfriend someone on Discord, there are a few things that happen after that:
1. You will not receive any messages from them: The first thing is that you cease to receive messages from the person. If you have previous communications, Discord will delete those messages unless you choose otherwise. Discord usually deletes those messages after 24 hours. In addition, the person you have unfriends will not see your messages in groups and will not send you new ones.
2. You cannot send them messages: Once you unfriend someone on Discord, you cannot send them messages again. This is because the communication on the platform is two-way. Since the person cannot send you messages, you also cannot communicate with them on the platform. Like how they cannot see your messages on servers you share, you cannot see their messages.
Will Others Know When I Unfriend Them on Discord?
When you delete a friend from Discord, the system will not notify them immediately. They will only get to know when they attempt to send you a message or contact you via other means on the platform. They will not be able to send you messages in your DM. When they click on your name, Discord will ask if they want to send you a friend request instead of asking whether they want to send you a message.
Furthermore, suppose they want to send you a message. In that case, they will receive a notification that says, “this message could not be delivered because you don’t share a server with the recipient or you disabled direct messages on your shared server, the recipient is only accepting direct messages from friends, or the recipient blocked you.” They will know at this point that you have unfriended them.
While Discord itself does not notify users when they are unfriended, some bots do it. These bots notify a person when other users unfriend them on Discord as part of their built-in features. Some people get these bots for exactly that purpose, but you do not have to worry about it. If you do not know the person outside of Discord, you do not have to worry about them harming you in retaliation or any negative consequences.
How Do You Know if Someone Unfriended You on Discord?
When someone unfriends you on Discord, you may not know immediately because Discord will not send you a notification. However, there are some ways to know.
You can get a bot that notifies you when others unfriend, mute or block you. Another way is to search for the person’s name on Discord. If you find the name but cannot send them messages, it is another indication.
That is all there is to unfriend a person on Discord. Henceforth, you don’t have to worry about someone disturbing you or sending unnecessary messages. Also, you now know the signs to look out for when someone unfriends you and the other options available for you. For example, you can mute a person and block them if necessary.