Wondering whether a user has deleted their Instagram account? Here’s how to know if someone deleted, deactivated, or simply blocked you on Instagram.
Let’s face it, Instagram is enormous! Apart from being arguably the most popular social media platform out there, it’s also one of the best platforms for making your brand visible to new consumers. These features and many others are why many users are pinned to the social media app.
Even with these cool features, have you ever wondered why so many people still delete their accounts on Instagram? Even celebrities are not left out, with some leaving social media due to a variety of reasons.
If you’re reading this, then chances are that you’re trying to figure out how to know if someone deleted their account on Instagram.
Anybody can delete their personal Instagram account for whatever reasons, but not many people know how to tell if their friends or a person they follow has deleted their account.
Whatever the case may be, this article will surely teach you how to tell if someone deleted their account on Instagram.
How to know if someone deactivated or deleted their Instagram account
If someone has deleted their account, their profile will no longer exist on Instagram. You cannot view their profile or search for their username. But if a person deactivates their account, their profile will still be there, but their photos, videos, and activity will no longer be visible.
Here’s how to find out whether your beloved Instagram personality has left the platform entirely.
1. Search for their username
The easiest way to tell if someone has deleted their account on Instagram is to search for them on the platform. If you can’t find them via a username search, name search, or by visiting their profile URL, then it means they’ve deleted their account.
Additionally, you can search their username directly on a browser by typing https://instagram.com/theusername. If you get the result that says ‘Sorry, this page isn’t available”, it means the person is no more on Instagram.
2. Ask a friend to check for you
You can ask a friend or someone else to check for the person’s account. If they can find them, then it means that they’ve blocked you and that the user is still available on Instagram.
3. Create another account
While you are still wondering if someone has deleted their accounts, you can register a new account to look for the person.
After registering, you can search for the account. If the account comes up and you can see their posts then it means the account is still live and not deleted.
4. Use third-party apps
Some third-party apps focus on providing solutions to blocking, deletion, and deactivation of Instagram accounts.
They can help you look for who has blocked you and many other things related to your IG account. An example of these apps is the Blockers Spy app.
It is important to note that these apps are not 100% secure and are not free most of the time. So you should be careful while using them or not use them at all.
What happens when someone deactivates their Instagram account?
If someone deactivates their account on Instagram, you will no longer see their photos, their likes, or comments on posts, and they won’t see yours also. Instagram may display a message such as “User not found“.
When someone deactivates their account on Instagram, their profile and all of their photos, comments, likes, and followers will be hidden until the account is reactivated.
If you try to view a deactivated Instagram account by clicking on it, you’ll get a message that says “No Posts Yet.”
That’s because all of the user’s photos have been removed from public view. Their likes and comments are also gone.
Although a user’s followers can no longer see their posts after the account is deactivated, the person who deactivated the account can still see posts in their feed.
This is because Instagram retains a basic version of your account data even if it has been deactivated.
So if someone wants to take a break from using Instagram, whether for a few days or indefinitely, they can simply deactivate their Instagram account so that people can no longer find them on the app while they’re away.
It’s an option that many people use when they want to remove themselves from social media.
It can be frustrating to realize that you follow someone and then lose them without knowing why, but worry not. There are plenty of ways to tell if someone you know has deleted their Instagram account, deactivated, restricted, or blocked you.
In some cases, accounts are disabled due to violating Instagram’s guidelines and their profile will be removed from the platform.
Just know that this kind of thing happens from time to time, so don’t be too hard on yourself if your favorite Instagrammer disappears for the time being.