Wondering how to delete Snapchat messages the other person saved? Read on to find out how to do it in as easy as a few steps.
Numbers don’t lie! Snapchat is one of the most popular photo-sharing apps on the internet. And given the unique filters and outstanding effects it’s packed with, maybe this isn’t overly surprising.
But have you ever felt like a couple of Snapchat messages might come back to haunt you? Perhaps, you said a couple of things during a conversation with a girl you met last weekend, and now you wish you didn’t say them? We’ve all been there!
The good news is that there is an easy way to get rid of messages you have sent via Snapchat, even if the recipient has saved them. In today’s article, I will be showing you an easy way to do it.
Can you delete messages on Snapchat that someone else saved?
The answer is yes, but it will require you to delete the conversation on your end and hope that the receiver has not taken a screenshot.
Although Snapchat has a feature for automatically deleting messages after some period of time depending on your settings. Also, if you send a funny photo or video to your friend and they save it, one of you can delete it manually.
How to delete messages on Snapchat that the other person saved
In a nutshell, to delete messages on Snapchat that the other person saved, you have to tap and hold on to the message and select ‘Delete’ from the menu that appears. The message will now be removed and unsaved for the other person.
1. Open the chat on Snapchat
The first thing to do is to open the chat that contains the message you wish to delete. This gives room for further options to delete the messages.
2. Tap and hold on to the message that you want unsaved
After opening the chat, the next step is to press and hold on to the message that you want to get unsaved.
A popup appears with a number of options, such as:
- Save in chat
- Chat Reply
3. Tap on the ‘Delete’ Option
Press the Delete option to remove the message from Snapchat.
When deleting a message, it will be removed from both your and your friend’s Snapchat accounts. This means that even if someone has saved your message, deleting it will unsave the message from their device.
4. Press Delete again to confirm
A confirmation message appears asking whether you want to remove the message. Tap on Delete to proceed.
Once the message is deleted, it gets unsaved for the other person and removed from their device.
Simple right? You just learn how to delete Snapchat messages the other person saved.
Does blocking someone unsave the messages that they saved?
The answer is no. Blocking someone on Snapchat does not prevent them from viewing the messages they previously saved.
If you block a friend, they will not be able to send you Snapchats or chats. They also won’t be able to see your story anymore. And the good news is that your snap score will remain the same.
However, if someone has saved a message, screenshot it, or taken a photo of it before you block them then they still have access to it after you have blocked them.
Can I unsave multiple messages at a time?
Currently, there is no way to unsave Snapchat messages in bulk. The only way to do it is to unsave them one by one.
To unsave a message, just press and hold on to the message and tap the ‘Unsave in Chat’ button. The message will be unsaved immediately.
Does removing a friend deleted saved messages?
Saved messages do not get deleted when you remove a friend. It only stops that person from sending you snaps and messages and viewing your stories.
A message is only removed if the sender or receiver removes it manually by tapping and holding on the message or conversation and selecting ‘Delete’.
The chat history will remain in your accounts and that of your friends’ even if you delete yourselves.
Does deleting my Snapchat account remove from the saved messages?
Deleting your Snapchat account does not delete saved messages. The only way to take messages with you is by deleting them first using one of the methods we’ve described above.
But it is important to know that your account is your responsibility until it is deleted, and it will be deleted only when you request for it. Just like any other social networking site, this is a user-driven content platform, and the company will not delete anything from your account unless asked to do so by the owner of that account.
For Snapchat accounts (and every other online account), deleting is irreversible, and there is no way to get back the data once it’s gone.
How can I prevent others from saving my Snapchat messages?
Snapchat messages are deleted by default from Snapchat’s servers after they’re viewed. They can be saved, however, by taking a screenshot of the conversation. There’s no way to prevent someone from doing this.
You can try to stop others from recording your Snapchat messages by asking them not to do so and letting them know that you’ll know if they do. If they don’t respect your wishes, you will likely have to stop using Snapchat with them altogether.
What does ‘Clear from Chat Feed’ do on Snapchat?
Snapchat has a feature called ‘Clear from Chat Feed’ also known as ‘Clear Conversation’. Once you use this feature, it will clear all the messages sent between you and your friends in a chat. You can’t recover any of them after using this feature.
Clear from Chat Feed is found on the Snapchat Friends page under Chat settings. The words are in red color. Once you tap the button, all the messages in the chat will be cleared. This feature is useful if there are too many messages in a chat and you want to save some disk space or clean up an old chat that’s no longer useful for you.
Snapchat is a great way to share photos with your friends, but we all make mistakes. Maybe you sent one of your less-than-flattering selfies, or perhaps you accidentally posted a photo of the company dog at an inappropriate time.
Well, whatever the reason, the good news is that there are ways to delete photos and videos from Snapchat. The bad news? Unless you’re sure the person who has your content hasn’t opened it or screenshot it yet, you can’t get it back!
This article speaks about how to delete Snapchat messages so they don’t come back to haunt.