Did you accidentally upload a video on your TikTok story and want to remove it? Fortunately, you can delete TikTok stories and they will be removed permanently.
However, knowing it can be done does not mean you automatically know how to do so. And that is what this guide will teach you. You will learn how to delete a TikTok story and get answers to popular questions about the topic.
Can TikTok stories be deleted?
Yes, TikTok stories can be deleted. TikTok works similarly to most other video-sharing social media platforms. Therefore, you can delete a TikTok story just like an Instagram story.
TikTok does not have an archive for stories like Instagram. Therefore, when you delete a story on TikTok, it is gone forever. However, apart from the stories, you can delete regular posts on TikTok without consequence.
How to delete stories on TikTok?
Deleting a story on TikTok is simple. Here’s a step-by-step process to do so:
- Open TikTok and go to your profile.
- Tap on your profile picture to see your current stories.
- Tap on the menu icon in the bottom right of the screen, which appears as three dots.
- Press Delete.
- Confirm by pressing the Delete button again
This is all it takes to delete stories on TikTok.
TikTok Story FAQ
How long do TikTok stories last?
TikTok stories last for 24 hours before being automatically deleted. You must remember that TikTok has no archiving system, so deleted contents cannot be retrieved in the future. You can use highlights to extend longevity beyond one day. Therefore, you should save your TikTok stories on your phone.
Do TikTok stories delete after 24 hours?
Yes, TikTok stories delete after 24 hours. Unlike Instagram stories, you cannot save TikTok stories to your archive for future use. There is also no highlight feature, and this is one of the areas the two social media platforms differ.
Are TikTok stories public?
TikTok stories are generally made private. Only people who follow you on TikTok can view your stories. TikTok is currently working on making stories public and available on the “For You” page.
Can I see who viewed my TikTok stories?
You cannot see people who viewed your TikTok stories. The platform only allows you to see the number of people who have viewed your status but not their names.
Can I still retrieve a story I’ve deleted on the TikTok app?
You cannot retrieve a TikTok story. Once you delete it, it is removed from your account forever. The only way to view the story’s content is to save it on your phone. Viewers who have kept the video can see it on their devices afterward.
What’s the ideal length of a TikTok story?
The best length of a TikTok story is 15 seconds. This short timeframe helps to optimize the attention of TikTok users. This length is perfect because most people like to view as many TikTok stories and post within a short time. Of course, you can post a series of 15 seconds videos, but the engagement may not be the same.
How many stories can I upload on TikTok in a day?
There is currently no limit to the number of stories you can upload on TikTok daily. Some figures put the numbers at 300 TikTok levels daily, but there is no confirmation. However, keeping your stories to two or three per day is ideal.
There are many reasons you may want to delete a TikTok story before 24 hours lapse. If these reasons occur, you only need to follow the steps explained in this guide.
It remains to be known if TikTok will include an archive feature for stories in future updates. This will be a welcome addition to many who want to have a record of their TikTok stories.